What does Gluten Free mean?
Gluten is a protein found in the cereals wheat, rye and barley. A similar protein
is found in oats. In EU countries like the UK, there is legislation governing which
products can make a gluten-free claim. Sakata rice crackers are gluten free and
are suitable for coeliacs.
Sakata is listed in Coeliac UK’s Food and Drink Directory. To find out more about
the gluten free diet you may like to visit www.coeliac.co.uk
How can I be sure that Sakata is gluten-free?
We very carefully control the way Sakata is manufactured to ensure that it is gluten
free, and conduct regular testing to ensure that Sakata can make a gluten free claim.
SAKATA SIZZLING BBQ FLAVOUR & SAKATA SEAWEED FLAVOUR ARE ALSO GLUTEN FREE!
We have had a few questions recently asking if the Sakata BBQ or Sakata Seaweed flavour contain any gluten. Let us reassure you that, as the label states, the products are gluten free and this has been confirmed by analytical testing through an accredited laboratory here in the UK, using the preferred test method of Coeliac UK.
The questions arose because the ingredients list does declare “soy sauce made from wheat” . While the soy sauce used is made with a mixture of soy beans and wheat, the wheat proteins are removed or de-natured by the soy sauce manufacturing process and therefore there is no longer any detectable gluten present. Due to EU allergen labelling legislation, wheat used in soy sauce manufacturing still has to be labelled on the pack, even when the product is gluten free.
We hope this is reassuring information for you and that you feel that you are able to enjoy all the flavours of Sakata on sale in the UK.
If you still have any concerns please contact us at Sakata Consumer Services Department, NAT21737, PO Box 7757, Leicester, LEA 8YZ. Call on 0800 7833 851, between 9-5 Mon - Fri